Uncategorized

Stage Fright

I have stage fright.  This is my first foray into the blogosphere, and I have no clue what I want to say, nor how best to say it.  I feel the pressure of all the fabulous blogs I’ve ever read, bearing down on me and challenging me to step up to the plate. I sit here now, picturing myself in 2 years time, reading back over my first blog post and cringing at the stilted words on the page, the lack of professionalism in my content, the sheer ‘green-ness’ of my first few posts.  The pressure of wanting to dazzle myself makes it difficult to string a thought together, let alone write with poise and clarity!

It would be safe to say that I harbour an unhealthy fear of failure.  It squashes ideas and thoughts in their infancy, the voice in my head convincing my inner being that there is no point even starting one of my big ideas because, well, it won’t succeed anyway.  Taking the plunge with my own blog is me trying to stick it to the voice.  Trying to show it, in words, that one of my ideas CAN succeed!

The world has so many sewing blogs already, but what the hell. I love reading them all. I find them a never-ending source of inspiration and sew-mojo.  They are my go-to when I have a sewing itch that needs scratching, or when I need to read up on a pattern review before diving head first into making.  I started sewing 7 years ago after I had my first baby, and found myself with lots of time on my hands.  I’ve always had a creative side to my personality, but it rarely saw the light of day while I worked away at my full time career.  Being on maternity leave unleashed my passion for sewing, and its been with me ever since, although life often gets in the way and my ability to churn out a wearable wardrobe season after season certainly waxes and wanes.

It is fitting then, that I start this blog – nearly 8 years after having my first baby – whilst on maternity leave for the second time.  I have added another little human being to my brood, and at 5 .5 months, lil’ Reuben keeps me busier than the first.  I truly don’t know how I will keep up with sewing and blogging and raising 2 kids, but hey, rather than letting the voice take control, I’m going to give it my best shot. All you other super-talented ladies out there manage to make it work! It just means my house will be a bit dirtier than usual.

 

Leave a Reply

