Grainline Studio · Pants · Papercut · Tops · Uncategorized

Drapey Crepey Anima Pants & Grainline Hemlock

Drapey Crepey Anima Pants20160302_185846

I’ve well & truly broken my Anima Pant-drought in these last couple of weeks.  After not having sewn a pair in about 18 months, this year I’ve made 2 already & another couple are in planning!

My latest pair are not that noteworthy, but deserve a quick blog post nonetheless!  In a previous post, I mentioned that the anima-drought was largely due to indecision about which fabric to choose.  I wanted a look that was less tracky-dack, and more out-and-about-lounge-pant.  So this time I’ve gone for something really safe so that I would feel less pressure in future about going out on a limb with more adventurous fabric selections.  It’s a stretchy black crepe from Spotlight.

20160302_185843

I’m learning that I need to trust the process and the pattern.  I needn’t have worried about the fit of this drapey crepey version as it’s bang-on what I had envisaged.  Simple, black, stretchy, comfy, goes-with-anything. Not too casual but not dressy.

Admittedly, the fabric was a bit of a b*tch to sew with, and I unpicked the waistband after persisting way too late one night and not having nearly enough light to be sewing black-on-black.  The waistband is still far from perfect, but 90% of the time it will be hidden under my top, and being black, its fairly forgiving.  For some reason I decided to lengthen the leg on these by 1 inch.  I needn’t have bothered as the crepe is so drapey that now the pants tend to billow over the ankle cuff a bit, but I’m good with that.  These should get a stack of wear as we move into Autumn and I need a light layer on the legs rather than shorts.

These pants are just so comfortable and easy to wear, that I had to make up my first Grainline Hemlock tee to wear with them.  This is the first time I’ve sewn any of the Grainline patterns, but I spend a lot of time on Jen’s website, trying to decide which of her many tempting patterns I want to try next.  The Hemlock was true to its reputation – quick and easy to sew up, as comfy as they come, and versatile. The only pattern adjustment I made was to remove 1″ from the centre front and centre back lines.  I didn’t want it too baggy, and was happy with how it turned out.   I have a selection of fabrics sitting in my stash that will make perfect Hemlocks – unless I find that the Lark is better suited to me!

20160302_185829

Garment Cost: Anima Pants – Fabric $19.95 Notions $5; Hemlock Tee – Fabric $10/m from Ferriers Fabrics

Pattern Cost per make: Anima Pants – Now made up 3 times. Hemlock tee – it’s a free pattern!!

 

Leave a Reply

